25.1 C
New Delhi
Thursday, October 5, 2023

Ministry of Tourism Identifies 17 Sites to be Developed as Iconic Tourist Sites


Minister of State (I/c) of Culture and Tourism, Shri Prahlad Singh Patel in a written reply in the Lok Sabha has informed that The Government has identified some world class iconic tourist stations in India to attract foreign and domestic tourists.

Pursuant to the Budget Announcements of 2018-19, Ministry of Tourism has identified 17 sites in 12 clusters in the country for development as Iconic Tourist Sites namely Taj Mahal & Fatehpur Sikri (Uttar Pradesh), Ajanta & Ellora (Maharashtra), Humayun’s Tomb, Red Fort & Qutub Minar (Delhi), Colva (Goa), Amer Fort (Rajasthan), Somnath & Dholavira (Gujarat), Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh), Hampi (Karnataka), Mahabalipuram (Tamil Nadu), Kaziranga (Assam), Kumarakom (Kerala) and Mahabodhi Temple (Bihar).

The Ministry shall be developing the above sites in a holistic manner with focus on issues concerning connectivity to the destination, better facilities/experience for the tourists at the site, skill development, and involvement of local community, promotion & branding and by bringing private investment. The development of Iconic Tourist sites scheme is awaiting approval of the Ministry of Finance.

- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article