27.1 C
New Delhi
Saturday, September 30, 2023

Validity Period of Approval / Classifications for Hotels & Other Accommodation Extended: MOT


The Ministry of Tourism classifies hotels under the star rating system to conform to the expected standards for different classes of tourists. Under this system, hotels are given a rating, from One Star to Three Star, Four and Five Star with or without alcohol, Five Star Deluxe, Heritage (Basic), Heritage (Classic), Heritage (Grand), Legacy Vintage (Basic), Legacy Vintage (Classic), Legacy Vintage (Grand) and Apartment Hotels, Homestays, Guesthouse, etc. The classification/ certification is valid for a period of five years.

Considering the current situation when the hospitality industry is going through a very difficult time in the wake of COVID 19 Pandemic and lockdown that has severely impacted the accommodation sector, it has been decided that validity of approval or certifications of hotels and other accommodation units whose project approvals/reapprovals and classification/reclassification have expired/are likely to expire during the period (24.03.2020 to 29.6.2020) are deemed to be extended till 30.06.2020.

The decision to increase the validity period for hotels comes after a similar announcement was made by the Ministry of Tourism for six months relaxation or extension to all categories of Tour Operators (Inbound, Domestic, Adventure), Travel Agents, and Tourist Transport Operators for their approval.

Also Read: The validity of Recognition by MOT Extended by Six Months For All Categories of Travel agents

- Advertisement -

More articles

Leave a Reply

- Advertisement -

Latest article